Red Bank names new planning commissioners

Members of the Red Bank City Commission named their selections for the Red Bank Planning Commission at the most recent City Commission meeting.

“Prior to this, the mayor appointed everyone,” said City Commissioner Ken Welch of the previous selection process of the seven members on the Planning Commission.

When John Roberts became the city’s mayor, he suggested lowering the number of planning commissioners to five chosen by each member of the City Commission.

“It brings checks and balances to the system,” said Roberts. “Everyone up here [on City Commission] should have representation up here too.”

The planning commissioners will serve the same number of years as the term of the City Commissioner who appointed them, explained Welch.

Roberts appointed Terry Pope to a two-year term and Vice Mayor Floy Pierce appointed William Cannon for a two-year term. Rick Causer appointed Floy Pierce, Eddie Pierce appointed David Hafley and Ken Welch appointed Rufus Smith, all of whom will be serving four-year terms.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.