Votes

Early voting takes place Feb. 13-28

Early voting for the March 5 Chattanooga City Council election starts Wednesday, Feb. 13 and runs through Thursday, Feb. 28. We asked candidates who could be representing citizens from districts 1, 2 and 3 to respond within 150-200 words to the following questions:

1. What qualifies you to run?

2. What do you think the most important issue your district faces and how do you plan to address it?

District 1 candidates

Jim Folkner

1. Approximately 70 percent of new jobs are created by small businesses. I have started and run several successful small businesses, mostly in Chattanooga. By doing [so], I know the problems with government regulations, taxes and fees. A business perspective of efficiency and customer concern is lacking in our city. I have a master’s in business administration and have studied the city budget and have been working to solve these problems for three years. My graduation from the Citizens Police Academy, ride-along with the police and research in gangs have given me an understanding of our crime problem and solutions.

2. City budgets will spend about $210 million in 2013. Managing our money with leadership to handle basic services instead of political wants of our mayor has led to lack of funding for necessary police functions, roads and neighborhood maintenance. We can cut the waste, partly shown on my website www.electjimfolkner.com, and have the money for paying most of our city employees better, solving the gang problem and cutting our taxes and fees.

Pat Hagan